Entrees / Meat / Veggies

Why Sam Hates Me, or, Simply Spicy…

Sam does not like spicy food. This is the story of why she hates me.

I grew up in a household where hot sauce and spices were necessary for a meal to taste good. We practically drank hot sauce with our meals. I love spicy food: the spicier, the better.

Sam was not brought up on homegrown jalapenos or making your own hot sauce from scratch, therefore she is not a fan of spice. (Did she even watch the Powerpuff Girls? They were MADE of Spice, for crying out loud!) In the span of about a week and I half, I may have burned Sam, literally, with my heavy-handedness when it comes to hot sauce.

First, there was the corn.

There was a special for corn (2 for $1) at Whole Foods, so I bought it and immediately texted Sam that we were having corn for dinner. But not just ANY boring old corn: we were going to have Chipotle Corn.

I cut the corn in half, and boiled it as you normally would. (I always throw in a dash of olive oil, a pinch of rock salt, and usually butter, but this time I did not). After the corn was done, in a different saucepan, I threw in butter, paprika, chili powder, minced garlic, and crushed red pepper flakes. After the butter melted and simmered, I threw the corn in and kept stirring for about 5 minutes on low heat.

I’m not going to lie. It was VERY spicy.  Even though I sweated, even though I teared up, that was one of the best corn meals I had ever tasted. (Is that corny? See what I did there?) Sam, on the other hand, had to wipe her corn and put it in the freezer so she could eat it.

Garlic and Spice and Everything Nice!

Then, there was the chicken.

I found a really great recipe for Garlic Roasted Chicken. I decided to go ahead and make it. Instead of using a whole chicken, I bought chicken legs. After lining the pan with aluminum foil, we sliced red potatoes into thin pieces and lined the bottom of the pan with them. We placed the chicken on the pan on top of the potatoes, spreading them out. After, we chopped up about two long carrots into tinier slivers; red, green and yellow peppers and drizzled the pan with EVOO. Then, season with chili powder, paprika, salt, and pepper. Mince some garlic and throw that in there too.  Pre-heat the oven to 425 and then let it roast for about 40-45 minutes.

It tasted spectacular. Or so, I thought. Sam said it was too spicy. But I swear I didn’t throw in any hot sauce this time! (I swear).

So that is why Sam now supervises me when I handle any spice in my kitchen. Oh, the woes of cooking for West Coasters.

Leave a Reply

